International Association for the Scientific Study of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

Comparative Policy & Practice

Mission Statement

The Special Interest Research Group on Comparative Policy and Practice exists to further the planning, coordinating and conducting of activities relevant to all aspects of comparative policy and practice in the field of intellectual disabilities. Its mission is to

  1. Provide a focus for the worldwide exchange and dissemination of research comparing policy and practice in intellectual disability.
  2. Promote cross-national, multidisciplinary collaboration in comparative policy and practice, with the aim of improving the lives of people with intellectual disabilities, their families and carers, throughout the world.
  3. Serve as a medium for deliberation, exchange of ideas, knowledge, skills and experience and for compilation, publication and dissemination of information about comparative policy and practice in intellectual disability.


The bylaws of the Comparative Policy and Practice SIRG can be viewed at this link: Bylaws



Michael Brown
Edinburgh Napier University, Room 3. B 16 Sighthill Campus, Sighthill Court, Edinburgh, EH11 4BU
E-Mail M.Brown@napier.ac.uk

Vice chair



Christine Linehan
F208 Newman Building, University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland
Email: Christine.linehan@ucd.ie


Julie Beadle-Brown,
Tizard Centre, University of Kent , Woodlands, Giles Lane, Canterbury CT2 7LR
Email: J.D.Beadle-Brown@kent.ac.uk

Ordinary members

  • Chris Bigby
    Department of Social Work and Social Policy, LaTrobe University, Bundoora 3086, Victoria, Australia.
    Email: c.bigby@latrobe.edu.au
  • Virginie Cobigo
    School of Psychology, Faculty of Health and Social Sciences, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Canada
    E-mail: virginie.cobigo@uottawa.ca
  • Jan Siska
    Charles University, Faculty of Education, M.D. Rettigové 4, 116 39, Prague 116 39, Czech Republic.
    Email: Jan.siska@pedf.cuni.cz
  • Jan Tøssebro
    Department of Social Work and Health Sciences, Faculty of Social Sciences and Technology Management, Norwegian University of Science and Technology Dragvoll, block 11, level 5, room 11 543, N-7491 Trondheim, Norway
    E-mail: jant@svt.ntnu.no
  • Mary-Ann O’Donovan (Ireland)
  • Valerie Bradley (USA)
  • Masauso Chirwa (Africa)