Executive Members

Colleen Adnams – President, Vice President Africa/Eastern Mediterranean
South Africa
Emeritus Professor of Intellectual Disability
Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health, University of Cape Town.

colleen.adnams@uct.ac.za

Angus Buchanan – President-Elect
Australia
Professor/Head of School at the School of Occupational Therapy, Social Work and Speech Pathology,
Curtin University, Australia
GPO Box U1987, Perth. Western Australia, 6845

a.buchanan@curtin.edu.au

Philip W. Davidson –  Past President
United States of America
Professor Emeritus of Paediatrics, Environmental Medicine and Psychiatry
University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry
10 Ellis Court, Hilton Head, SC 29926

phil_davidson@urmc.rochester.edu

Kenneth Poon – Treasurer
Singapore
Associate Professor
Associate Dean, Education Research
National Institute of Education,
Nanyang Technological University

kenneth.poon@nie.edu.sg

Jennifer Zarcone – Secretary
United States of America
Senior Vice President for Adult Clinical Services and Director of Training
The May Institute

JZarcone@mayinstitute.org

Tamar Heller – Vice-President, Americas
United States of America
Distinguished Professor,
Heads of Department – Disability and Human Development,
University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) and its University Center of Excellence in Developmental Disabilities.

theller@uic.edu

Alice Schippers – Vice-President, Europe
Netherlands

alice.schippers@tiscali.nl

Ivan Brown – Vice President, Policy and Education, Director of the Academy, and SIRG Coordinator
Canada

ivan.brown@live.ca

Special Interest Research Group Representatives

Aging and Intellectual Disabilities
Chair – Philip McCallion
United States of America
mcclion@albany.edu

Autism Spectrum Disorders
Co-Chair – Evelina Rydzewska
Scotland
ewelina.rydzewska@glasgow.ac.uk

Co-Chair – Yasamin Bolourian
United States
ybolo002@ucr.edu

Challenging Behaviour and Mental Health
Co-chair – Peter Langdon
United Kingdom
P.E.Langdon@kent.ac.uk

Co-chair: Mindy Scheithauer
United States
mindy.scheithauer@choa.org

Comparative Policy and Practice
Chair – Christine Linehan
Republic of Ireland
christine.linehan@ucd.ie

Down Syndrome
Chair – Rhonda Faragher
Australia
r.faragher@uq.edu.au

Early Intervention
Chair – Michael Guralnick
United States
mjgural@uw.edu

Ethics & Intellectual Disability
Chair – Hans Reinders
Netherlands
j.s.reinders@vu.nl

Families
Co-chair – Sandy Magana
United States
maganas@uic.edu

Co-chair – Sarah Dababnah
United States
sdababnah@ssw.umaryland.edu

Health Issues
Co-Chair – Esther Bakker-vanGijssel
Netherlands
Esther.Bakker-vanGijssel@radboudumc.nl

Co-Chair – Jenneken Naaldenberg
Netherlands
Jenneken.Naaldenberg@radboudumc.nl

Inclusive Education
Co-Chair Tobias Buchner
Austria
tobias.buchner@univie.ac.at

Co-Chair – Deidre Corby
Republic of Ireland
deirdre.corby@dcu.ie

Parenting with Intellectual Disability
Chair – Marjorie Aunos

Canada
maunos.crom@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Profound Multiple Disabilities
Chair – Bea Maes
Belgium
bea.maes@kuleuven.be

Quality of Life
Co-Chair – Meaghan Edwards

Canada
meaghan.edwards@ucalgary.ca

Co-chair – Keith McVilly
Australia
keith.mcvilly@unimelb.edu.au

Governance Committee

Membership Committee

Tony Holland, M.D., Cambridge University (UK)

Mary McCarron, Ph.D., Trinity College Dublin (Republic of Ireland)

Germain Weber, Ph.D., University of Vienna (Austria)

Bruce Tonge, M.D., Monash University (Australia)

Jennifer Zarcone, Ph.D., The May Institute (USA)

Philip W. Davidson, Ph.D., University of Rochester (USA)

Michael Guralnick, PhD., University of Washington (USA)

Jennifer Zarcone, The May Institute, US – Chair

Yasamin Bolourian, University of California Riverside, US

Peter Langdon, University of Warwick, UK

Sui Sone, Tokyo Metropolitan Higashiyamato Medical Center for Persons with Developmental/Multiple Disabilities, Japan

Keith McVilly, The University of Melbourne, Australia

Marco Lombardi, Hogeschool Gent, Belguim

Others

Ivan Brown – Director, IASSIDD Academy
Canada
ivan.brown@utoronto.ca

Rhonda Faragher – JPPID Co-Editor
Australian Catholic University, Australia
r.faragher@uq.edu.au

Laurence Taggart – JPPID Co-Editor
Ulster University, United Kingdom
l.taggart@ulster.ac.uk

Richard Hastings – JIDR Editor
United Kingdom
r.hastings@warwick.ac.uk

International Association for the Scientific Study of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (IASSIDD) 

The International Association for the Scientific Study of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (IASSIDD) is the first and only world-wide group dedicated to the scientific study of intellectual disability.

Founded in 1964 as the International Association for the Scientific Study of Mental Deficiency, IASSIDD is an international, interdisciplinary and scientific non-governmental organization which promotes worldwide research and exchange of information on intellectual disabilities.

Office

Please contact the IASSIDD international office for questions about joining IASSIDD, renewing your membership or general questions.
© 2018 International Association for the Scientific Study of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (IASSIDD)